What is Democratic Art?

Is it possible for art to be democratic?
Or do some audiences automatically exclude themselves from the art work regardless of the artists efforts?

I am getting interested in how people respond to an art work. Is it idealistic to believe that there is an artwork that could EVERYONE could respond to? That could mean something to everyone?

Research so far indicates that this is in fact not the case. So I want to think about what is the best way to make a work democratic? Or should I even bother? In which case am I turning my back on idealism and should I start to make elitist work? social

Leave a Reply

