Lost & Found

L&F Flyer front A6

18403365_640283149513144_3211712175370498671_n
My art practice is based around my obsession with care and the occupation of politically visible space. My focus over the past two years has shifted towards the gendering of both of those subjects and how my practice can interrogate these dual interests without becoming overly documentarian, prescriptive or propagandised. For me, making art is a way of making sense of the world, of critically unpicking the elements that cause tensions.

The nebulous nature of ‘Lost and Found’ has left me with a deep sense of sadness. In order to find something you must first know it is lost, you have to be aware of its absence. The losses I am considering are political and gendered in nature. In specific the loss of identity of women and the loss of access to space. These losses are sharply felt by their absence and I do not know if they can be found again and if they could, I don’t know where or how to find them. Built in to these polar states is a sense of completion, if you could just but find the lost thing, you could be whole again. Some losses can never be found and in that instance you are left incomplete.

18403255_640283159513143_5712002125122557622_n

I’m exploring the losses that may not be re-found. Considering in specific how gentrification effectively redacts women’s (and from an intersectional point of view the race, sexuality and class of these women redacts them further) access to public spaces/services in my local area.

Redaction is another key area of interest in this exploration, it is the sanitisation of imagery in specific that I am considering, so it becomes a way of losing part of the image. Is the loss of the visibility (for women in specific) indicative of a loss of identity? Without great effort on behalf of many, how will this be found?

Leave a Reply

